October 1, 2022

Mid-Atlantic Emmy Awards

Overall Excellence
Video/Productions Compilation
Deborah Acklin, President/CEO

Community Service
“Future Jobs”
David Solomon, Vice President of Production

Arts/Entertainment – Short Form Content (Single Report)
“Susan Jaffe: Innovative, Bold, Athletic, Gritty”
Amy Grove, Producer/Photographer/Editor
Iris Samson, Producer/Photographer

Education/Schools – Short Form Content (Single Report)
“Cartoon Academy: That’s Snow Business”
Joe Wos, Creator
Amy Grove, Producer/Photographer/Editor
Annette Banks, Producer/Photographer

Lifestyle – Short Form Content (Single Report)
“Comfort Food: Baking for the Flight 93 Families” 
Beth Dolinar, Producer
Amy Grove, Editor/Photographer
David Solomon, Vice President of Production

Lifestyle – Long Form Content (Single Program)
“Wilkinsburg Train Station: Back on Track”
Nathalie Berry, Producer

Public Affairs Long Form (Single Program)
“Future Jobs: Starting Over”
Beth Dolinar, Producer
Paul Ruggieri, Photographer/Editor

A Season to Remember: The Baseball Boys of Mon City 
Beth Dolinar

Talent-Program Host/Moderator
Cartoon Academy
Joe Wos

May 6, 2022

Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters

The Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters has recognized WQED with three state-wide Awards for Excellence in Television/Digital Journalism. The winners were recognized at a ceremony in Harrisburg on May 6, 2022.

Outstanding Public Affairs Series
Anne Casper, Nathalie Berry, Beth Dolinar, Annette Banks, Willy James, Ryne DeCaprio, Paul Ruggieri, Dave Forstate, Minette Seate, David Solomon

Outstanding Feature Story
Comfort Food: Baking for the Flight 93 Families
Beth Dolinar, Amy Grove, Anne Casper, Paul Ruggieri, Dave Forstate, David Solomon

Outstanding Public Service Campaign
A Matter of Trust: COVID-19 Vaccines
Iris Samson, Willy James, Frank Caloiero, Minette Seate, David Solomon

January 19, 2022

Bobbi English Champion for Children Award

Gina Masciola & Cathy Cook

Sesame Street Workshop presented the 2022 Bobbi English Champion for Children Award to Gina Masciola and Cathy Cook of the WQED Education Department, and to WQED during a virtual ceremony on January 19.

The award honors Gina, Cathy and WQED for their dedication, commitment and tireless work in supporting early childhood engagement and education in

Pittsburgh and throughout western Pennsylvania. This award was extra-special because Gina and Cathy knew and worked with Bobbi English at Sesame Street before her untimely death. The award included $15,000 for WQED’s educational initiatives.

January 12, 2022

The Pittsburgh Black Media Federation has announced that WQED is being recognized with five awards in its 33rd annual Robert L. Vann Media Awards contest. The recognition honors excellence in journalism coverage of African American and African diaspora communities, individuals and issues for content produced during the calendar year 2020.

2023 Golden Quill Awards WQED Winners

Best of Show

Ed Romano Memorial Award: Videography
Aidan McGarvey. Ryne DeCaprio

Excellence in Video/Broadcast Journalism

“Remembering Pittsburgh’s Chinatown”
Nathalie Berry, Paul Ruggieri, Dave Forstate, Frank Caloiero

News Feature
“At Your Service”
Gina Catanzarite, Zak Boyle

Traditional Feature
“Sunflower Season: A Million Smiling Faces”
Beth Dolinar, Dave Forstate, Damian Catanza, Paula Zetter

“Gordon Parks in Pittsburgh”
Nathalie Berry, Amy Grove, Willy James, Paul Ruggieri

“Making Bronze Move”
Nathalie Berry, Paul Ruggieri, Dave Forstate, Anna Singer

“Cartoon Academy: Playful Pets”
Joe Wos, Amy Grove, Annette Banks, Paul Ruggieri

Excellence in Audio Journalism

“Dr. Barry Coutinho Shoulder to Shoulder Pittsburgh”
Jim Cunningham, Bryan Sejvar, Jesse Soracco, Dr. Barry Coutinho

“Naomi Allen: Queen of Nairobi Interview”
Kamera Dorsey

Excellence in Journalistic Craft Achievement

Sports Videography
Aidan McGarvey. Ryne DeCaprio

Communications Professional of the Year by Thiel College

Jim Cunningham

WQED-FM’s Jim Cunningham received a prestigious honor from his alma mater in February. Jim (Class of ’77) was given the 2022 James Pedas Communications Professional of the Year Award. The award recognizes the contributions of James Pedas ’50, H’89 who was the lead donor for the $6.5 million James Pedas Communication Center, the College’s collaborative learning and media center where students engage in film, TV, radio, news production and other multimedia-rich experiences that prepare them for today’s information society.