The Speckled Band

Thu, Jun 13 2019 at 8:00 pm
Fri, Jun 14 2019 at 8:00 pm
Wed, May 15 2019 at 8:00 pm
Sun, Jun 16 2019 at 2:00 pm
Thu, Jun 20 2019 at 8:00 pm
Fri, Jun 21 2019 at 8:00 pm
Sat, Jun 22 2019 at 2:00 pm
Mon, Jul 22 2019 at 8:00 pm
Sun, Jun 23 2019 at 2:00 pm
Mon, Jun 24 2019 at 8:00 pm
Thu, Jun 27 2019 at 8:00 pm
Fri, Jun 28 2019 at 8:00 pm
Mon, Jul 29 2019 at 8:00 pm
Tue, Jul 30 2019 at 8:00 pm

The Speckled Band was first published in the Strand Magazine in 1892 and later reprinted in the short-story collection The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. A locked-room puzzle with horrific overtones, the tale was considered by Doyle and many of his readers to be his best effort. Doyle adapted the story for the stage in 1912 (the year the Titanic sank) and the play was a hit that year in London and on Broadway. The curtain rises on the large, gloomy, oak-lined hall of a dilapidated manor in Stoke Moran, Surrey. A coroner’s inquest is about to commence. Enid Stoner, dressed in black and heavily veiled, is crouched on a sofa, her face buried in the cushions, sobbing over the mysterious death of her sister, Violet. Her stepfather, Dr. Grimesby Rylott, advises Enid to “stamp down” her emotions and assures the grieving girl of his love. Dr. John Watson, a friend of the family since his military days in India, arrives on the scene. Concerned for Enid’s safety, he tells her she must seek the help of his singular friend, Sherlock Holmes. The Speckled Band stars Kinetic Theatre associate artist David Whalen as Sherlock Holmes and features James FitzGerald (Watson), Sam Tsoutsouvas, Jessie Wray Goodman, Wali Jamal, Martin Giles, and Lisa Ann Goldsmith in an ensemble of twelve. It plays June 13-30, 2019 at the Charity Randall Theatre.

 

Tickets are $42 dollars.

Location 

Charity Randall Theatre

4301 Forbes Ave., Oakland

Event Type 
Theater
Free 
No