Louise Silk: Artist Demonstration

Wed, Feb 12 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Feb 19 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Feb 26 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Mar 04 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Mar 11 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Mar 18 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Mar 25 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Apr 01 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Apr 08 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Apr 15 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Apr 22 2020 at 10:00 am
Wed, Apr 29 2020 at 10:00 am

ReNew, an exhibition featuring a selection of vibrant works by Pittsburgh artist Louise Silk, showcases up-cycled fiber pieces that shed light on spiritual and environmental contexts. Healing is one of the primary themes displayed in Silk’s artworks. During the run of the exhibition, Silk will be onsite at the gallery every Wednesdays from 10 AM to 2 PM to demonstrate her creative process and engage with visitors.

The artist uses T-shirt remnants, old quilts, pieced denim, denim seams, and other recycled materials with hand embroidery, machine piecing, and reverse applique techniques to create her mantles and quilts. Zero-waste—the idea that we send nothing to a landfill, reduce what we need, reuse as much as we can, and compost what we cannot—has made Silk aware of the waste she was producing as well as the impact of fast-fashion industries.
 

CC’s BNY Mellon Satellite Gallery is located at 500 Grant St, Pittsburgh, PA 15219 (in the Lobby of the Steel Plaza T-Station in downtown Pittsburgh). This exhibition is open daily through midnight and is also free to the public.

Location 

Contemporary Craft BNY Mellon Satellite Gallery

500 Grant Street Pittsburgh PA 15219

Event Type 
Visual Art
Free 
Yes