Cultural Calendar

Cultural Screening: Van Gogh & Japan

Thu, Sep 5 at 7:30 pm, Sun, Sep 15 at 12:00 pm

The Tull Family Theater, 418 Walnut St., Sewickley, PA  15143

This 1 hour, 30 minute documentary shares the impact of traditional Japanese woodblocks on the work of Impressionist Vincent Van Gogh.


"For the beginning of time..."

Sun, Sep 15 at 12:00 pm

Slippery Rock University

Swope Music Building - Recital Hall

Join us at Slippery Rock University for a special performance featuring chamber works by Carl Maria von Weber and Bohuslav Martinu. The performance will close with George Crumb's, Vox Balaenae (Voice of the Whale).


Zion's 151st History Event

Sun, Sep 15 at 1:30 pm

Zion Ev. Lutheran Church

237 37th Street

Pittsburgh, PA 15201

412-621-2720

2 p.m. - Journey to the past with The Wayward Companions.  A small group of musicians, in 19th Century Period dress, will perform lively and engaging music of the era’s popular songs. 


Heinz Chapel Concert: Back to Bach

Sun, Sep 15 at 3:00 pm

Heinz Memorial Chapel

Award-winning violinist Devin Arrington and acclaimed pianist organist Michael Hammer perform some of Bach's "greatest hits" for solo violin and solo organ while also exploring the music of those who inspired him to greatness.


A Concert for Girls Hope

Sun, Sep 15 at 4:00 pm

Rodef Shalom Congregation

4905 Fifth Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Concert to be held in the Sanctuary, with a reception afterward in the atrium.

We hope you can join us for an afternoon concert featuring pieces for soprano, clarinet, and piano by Spohr, Rachmaninoff, Donizetti, Handel, and Schubert. All proceeds will go to benefit Girls Hope.


Symphony East Presents Pianist Tom Roberts

Mon, Sep 16 at 1:00 pm

Redstone Highlands, 4951 Cline Hollow Road, Murrysville, PA   15668

Pianist, arranger, music historian and composer Tom Roberts presents a program entitled "Doctors, Professors and Maharajahs". Roberts plays the music of virtuoso New Orleans R&B pianists Professor Longhair, Dr.


The Fire of Joy: How St. Philip Neri Inspired Newman

Mon, Sep 9 at 7:00 pm, Mon, Sep 16 at 7:00 pm, Mon, Sep 23 at 7:00 pm, Mon, Sep 30 at 7:00 pm

211 N. Dithridge St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213

This September, join us on Monday evenings from 7 to 8 p.m. for a study of St. Philip Neri’s influence on John Henry Newman. These Monday evening discussions will present an opportunity to learn more about St.


Toto's Tools

Tue, Mar 12 at 6:00 pm, Tue, May 7 at 6:00 pm, Tue, Jul 16 at 6:00 pm, Tue, Sep 17 at 6:00 pm

Parents in Toto Autism Resource Center

143 South Main Street

Zelienople, PA 16063

A free social and emotional skills class for teens!


Young Adult Group

Fri, Jun 7 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Jun 21 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Jul 5 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Jul 19 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Aug 2 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Aug 16 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Sep 6 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Sep 20 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Oct 4 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Oct 18 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Nov 1 at 7:00 pm, Fri, Nov 15 at 7:00 pm

Parents in Toto Autism Resource Center

143 South Main Street

Zelienople, PA 16063

First & Third Friday of each month

7-8:30 PM

Individuals 17 years and older gather to share experiences and friendship. Group members are free to choose their activities based on mutual interests.


The Four Nations Ensemble & Chatham Baroque: Foreign Accents

Fri, Sep 20 at 7:30 pm, Sat, Sep 21 at 8:00 pm, Sun, Sep 22 at 2:30 pm

Friday, September 20, 2019, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Upper St. Clair, 7:30 PM
Saturday, September 21, 2019, Synod Hall, Oakland, 8 PM
Sunday, September 22, 2019, Campbell Memorial Chapel, Chatham University, 2:30 PM

The season begins with a special joint presentation of both the Renaissance & Baroque and Chatham Baroque series.


Pages